12.5 Reducing waste generation 12.5 Reducing waste generation

12.5 Reducing waste generation
(32 results for your search)

Sub-goal 12.5 envisages a significant drop in waste by 2030 through prevention, reduction, recovery and reuse.

Read more

The amended Closed Substance Cycle Waste Management Act (KrWG), the Packaging Act (VerpackG; 1 January 2019), the Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act (ElektroG; updated in 2015) and the Waste Prevention Programme (2013) set the legal framework to promote waste prevention, the reuse and high-quality recycling of various environmentally relevant waste streams, and demand compliance with specific targets.

Numerous information initiatives and platforms have been developed for companies, schools and the general public to significantly reduce the amount of waste, for example

  • To reduce food loss and waste (e.g. the alliance ‘We save food!’ set up by the Bavarian State Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Forestry, which aims to create an exchange for the development and implementation of measures against food waste along the entire value chain),
  • To facilitate the reuse of components (for example, the Bremen Component Exchange),
  • To increase the repair of second-hand goods (e.g. the Round Table Repair, where environmental organisations, consumer advocates, representatives of the repair and manufacturing industry, science and repair initiatives are working to strengthen repair and also to improve the framework for repair) and 
  • To increase the demand for repair services and second-hand goods (for example, the interactive online map of repair, second-hand and loan/exchange services in Berlin via the ReMap).

The Federal Statistical Office (destatis) collects data for indicator 12.5.1 on SDG 12.5 ‘National recycling quota, tonnes of recycled material’ at the national level (see the National Reporting Platform).

Bundesregierung; Bundesrat; Bundestag
Packaging Act

The Packaging Act ("Verpackungsgesetz") was passed in 2017 and has been in force since 1 January 2019. The new Packaging Act further develops the existing Packaging Ordinance in the ecological sense. It is addressed to consumers, disposers and producers of packaging and aims to avoid packaging waste and to further increase the recycling rate.

Unterziele
12.5 Reducing waste generation
Ziele
SDG 9
BMU; UBA; Verband Kommunaler Unternehmen e.V.
EWAV (European Week for Waste Reduction)

The European Week for Waste Reduction (Europäische Woche der Abfallvermeidung = EWAV) is Europe's largest communication campaign on waste prevention and reuse. It takes place annually in the last week of November across the continent and beyond. The aim is to sensitise all Europeans to the need to conserve resources and to show practical ways out of the throwaway society.
The campaign was initiated in 2009 by the European Commission, and in 2010 the European Waste Prevention Week was launched in Germany.

Unterziele
12.2 Sustainable management of natural resources 12.5 Reducing waste generation
Ziele
SDG 9 SDG 17
BMBF
ERA-MIN 2 - Research and Innovation Programme on Raw Materials to Foster Circular Economy

The implementation of circular economy and especially the closure of cycles for raw materials requires collaboration beyond national borders. Therefore, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research promotes the joint transnational calls of the pan European R&I programme ERA-MIN. Partners of transnational consortia should provide a significant contribution to the transnational added value of collaboration. The scope of the joint calls is to promote research addressing thematic areas of the circular economy (sustainable exploration, extraction and processing technologies, recycling, substitution of critical raw materials).The implementation of circular economy and especially the closure of cycles for raw materials requires collaboration beyond national borders. Therefore, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research promotes the joint transnational calls of the pan European R&I programme ERA-MIN. Partners of transnational consortia should provide a significant contribution to the transnational added value of collaboration. The scope of the joint calls is to promote research addressing thematic areas of the circular economy (sustainable exploration, extraction and processing technologies, recycling, substitution of critical raw materials).

Unterziele
12.1 Sustainable consumption and production patterns 12.2 Sustainable management of natural resources 12.4 Environmentally sound management of chemicals 12.5 Reducing waste generation 12.6 Responsible companies
Ziele
SDG 8 SDG 9 SDG 17
BMU
Waste Management Act (KrWG)

The Waste Management Act (Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz = KrWG) entered into force on 1 June 2012 and is now Germany's main waste disposal statue. It transposes the EU Waste Framework Directive (2008/98/EC) into German law and comprehensively modernises the former German waste legislation. The KrWG is intended to tighten resource, climate and environmental protection regulations and improve resource efficiency in waste management by strengthening waste avoidance and recycling. At the same time, the adoption of terms and definitions under EU law and the clarification of central regulations are intended to facilitate the practicable and legally secure application of the law. In addition, bureaucratic burdens have been reduced and various regulations have been made more enforceable.
A new scope of application and definitions harmonised under EU law provide more legal certainty and facilitate the application of the Act. In addition, for the first time there are regulations on the practice-relevant questions of the differentiation between waste and by-product as well as on the end of waste status. Based on EU law, the law also determines whether a waste incineration plant is granted " recovery status". The implementation of the hierarchy in the stages of prevention, recovery, disposal is already specified by the law.

With the introduction of § 45 Obligations of Public Authorities, public procurement also receives greater support for waste prevention. § 45 obliges federal authorities to give preference in procurement to "products which, among other things, (1) have been manufactured using production processes that conserve raw materials, save energy, conserve water, are low in pollutants or low in waste ; (2) have been manufactured by preparing them for re-use or by recycling waste, in particular using recycled materials, or have been manufactured from renewable raw materials ; (3) are characterised by durability, ease of repair, reusability and recyclability [...]"

Unterziele
12.4 Environmentally sound management of chemicals 12.5 Reducing waste generation 12.7 Sustainable public procurement
Ziele
SDG 9 SDG 16
BMEL; BLE
Innovation Promotion Programme of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Food

Innovations are essential for the entire agricultural sector to strengthen its competitiveness. In order to utilise and bundle the great potential of ideas from industry and science, the programme for the promotion of innovation of the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) was published in July 2006. The aim is to support technical and non-technical innovations in all areas of agriculture and the food industry. The focus is on the use of the latest scientific findings for the development of internationally competitive products, processes and services.

The innovation promotion programme focuses on application-oriented and product-oriented research and development and thus on the research categories "Industrial Research" and "Experimental Development". The main addressees of the innovation funding are commercial enterprises and research institutions, which usually work together to realise innovations.

The funding areas are diverse and have grown steadily since the innovation funding programme began. In addition to research and development projects from the various areas of plant production, agricultural technology and livestock farming, the central focal points of safe food and healthy nutrition round off the current funding range.

Unterziele
12.1 Sustainable consumption and production patterns 12.2 Sustainable management of natural resources 12.3 Reducing food losses 12.5 Reducing waste generation 12.6 Responsible companies
Ziele
SDG 3 SDG 9 SDG 13 SDG 14 SDG 15

12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen 12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen

12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen
(32 Ergebnisse für Ihre Suche)

Das Unterziel 12.5 sieht vor, das Abfallaufkommen durch Vermeidung, Verminderung, Verwertung und Wiederverwendung bis 2030 deutlich zu verringern.

Weiterlesen

In diesem Kontext geben insbesondere das geänderte Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz KrWG, das am 1. Januar 2019 in Kraft getretene Verpackungsgesetz (VerpackG), das in 2015 novellierte Elektro- und Elektronikgerätegesetz (ElektroG) und das Abfallvermeidungsprogramm des Bundes und der Länder von 2013 den rechtlichen Rahmen vor, um Abfallvermeidung, Wiederverwendung und hochwertiges Recycling verschiedener, umweltrelevanter Abfallströme zu fördern und Einhaltung spezifischer Zielvorgaben zu fordern.

Um das Abfallaufkommen deutlich zu verringern, wurden verschiedene Informationsangebote und Plattformen für Unternehmen, Schulen und die breite Öffentlichkeit erarbeitet, um beispielsweise

  • Lebensmittelverluste und -abfälle zu verringern (z.B. das vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Forsten eingerichtete Bündnis „Wir retten Lebensmittel!“, das entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette einen stufenübergreifenden Austausch zur Erarbeitung und Umsetzung von Maßnahmen gegen Lebensmittelverschwendung schaffen will),
  • die Wiederverwendung von Bauteilen zu erleichtern (beispielsweise die Bauteilbörse Bremen),
  • die Reparatur von Gebrauchtwaren zu stärken (z.B. der Runde Tisch Reparatur, in dem Umweltverbände, Verbraucherschützer, Vertreter der reparierenden Wirtschaft und der herstellenden Industrie, Wissenschaft und Reparaturinitiativen daran arbeiten, Reparatur zu stärken und auch die Rahmenbedingungen für Reparatur zu verbessern) und 
  • die Nachfrage nach Reparaturdienstleistungen und Gebrauchtgütern zu steigern (beispielsweise die interaktive Online-Karte von Reparatur-, Second-hand und Leih-/Tausch-Angeboten in Berlin über die ReMap).

Das Statistische Bundesamt destatis erfasst für den Indikator 12.5.1 zu SDG 12.5 „Nationale Recyclingquote, Tonnen an recyceltem Material“ auf nationaler Ebene Daten (siehe nationale Berichtsplattform).

Bundesregierung; Bundesrat; Bundestag
Verpackungsgesetz

Das Verpackungsgesetz wurde 2017 verabschiedet ist seit dem 1. Januar 2019 in Kraft. Das neue Verpackungsgesetz entwickelt die bestehende Verpackungsverordnung im ökologischen Sinn weiter. Es richtet sich an Verbraucher*innen, Entsorger*innen und Produzenten*innen von Verpackungen. Ziel ist es, Verpackungsabfälle zu vermeiden und die Recyclingquote weiter zu steigern: Zum einen bereits bei der Entwicklung und Herstellung von Verpackungen, zum anderen bei ihrer Entsorgung (weniger pfandfreie Verpackungen). Verbraucher müssen künftig auf einige Getränke mehr Pfand entrichten, etwa auf Frucht- und Gemüse-Säfte mit Kohlensäure. Die thermische Verwertung von Kunststoffverpackungen soll deutlich gesenkt werden. Hersteller müssen die Produktion von Verpackungen stärker danach ausrichten, dass diese gut recycelt werden können. Die Kommunen erhalten weitgehende Möglichkeiten, das Sammeln der Verpackungsabfälle zu steuern. Die Recycling-Quote für Kunststoffverpackungen soll bis zum Jahr 2022 auf 63 Prozent wachsen. Die von Industrie und Handel finanzierten dualen Systeme müssen ab 2019 deutlich höhere Recycling-Quoten erfüllen.

Unterziele
12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen
Ziele
SDG 9
BMU; UBA; Verband Kommunaler Unternehmen e.V.
EWAV (Europäische Woche der Abfallvermeidung)

Die Europäische Woche der Abfallvermeidung (EWAV) ist Europas größte Kommunikationskampagne rund um die Themen Abfallvermeidung und Wiederverwendung. Sie findet jährlich in der letzten Novemberwoche auf dem gesamten Kontinent und darüber hinaus statt. Ziel ist es, alle Europäer*innen für die Notwendigkeit der Ressourcenschonung zu sensibilisieren und praktische Wege aus der Wegwerfgesellschaft aufzuzeigen. Die EWAV verfolgt einen dezentralen Ansatz. Lokale Akteur*innen aus Wirtschaft, Politik, Zivilgesellschaft, Umwelt- und Verbraucherschutz sowie aus dem Bildungsbereich und der Verwaltung organisieren eigene Aktionen vor Ort.
Initiiert wurde die Kampagne 2009 von der Europäischen Kommission, 2010 ging die Europäische Woche der Abfallvermeidung dann in Deutschland an den Start.
Auf europäischer Ebene koordiniert das EU Sekretariat die Kampagne. Es wird durch ein EU-Steering Committee, bestehend aus der Europäischen Kommission sowie weiteren nationalen Institutionen, finanziert und angeleitet.

Unterziele
12.2 Natürliche Ressourcen schonen 12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen
Ziele
SDG 9 SDG 17
BMBF
Ressourceneffiziente Kreislaufwirtschaft – ERA-MIN 2

Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung einer ressourceneffizienten Kreislaufwirtschaft erfordert die Zusammenarbeit über nationale Grenzen hinaus. Daher beteiligt sich das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung an den Ausschreibungen des europäischen Netzwerks ERA-MIN. Dadurch wird die Zusammenarbeit deutscher Akteure mit Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen aus europäischen und außereuropäischen Ländern ermöglicht. Die Ausschreibungen adressieren Themen des gesamten Rohstoffkreislaufs (nachhaltige Versorgung mit Primärrohstoffen, kreislaufwirtschaftsgerechtes Produktdesign, ressourceneffiziente Produktion, Recycling von Produkten und Komponenten).Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung einer ressourceneffizienten Kreislaufwirtschaft erfordert die Zusammenarbeit über nationale Grenzen hinaus. Daher beteiligt sich das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung an den Ausschreibungen des europäischen Netzwerks ERA-MIN. Dadurch wird die Zusammenarbeit deutscher Akteure mit Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen aus europäischen und außereuropäischen Ländern ermöglicht. Die Ausschreibungen adressieren Themen des gesamten Rohstoffkreislaufs (nachhaltige Versorgung mit Primärrohstoffen, kreislaufwirtschaftsgerechtes Produktdesign, ressourceneffiziente Produktion, Recycling von Produkten und Komponenten).

Unterziele
12.1 Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster 12.2 Natürliche Ressourcen schonen 12.4 Abfälle verantwortungsvoll entsorgen 12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen 12.6 Verantwortungsvolle Unternehmen
Ziele
SDG 8 SDG 9 SDG 17
BMU
Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz (KrWG)

Mit dem neuen Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz wird die EU-Abfallrahmenrichtlinie (Richtlinie 2008/98/EG, AbfRRL) in deutsches Recht umgesetzt und das bestehende deutsche Abfallrecht umfassend modernisiert. Ziel des neuen Gesetzes ist eine nachhaltige Verbesserung des Umwelt- und Klimaschutzes sowie der Ressourceneffizienz in der Abfallwirtschaft durch Stärkung der Abfallvermeidung und des Recyclings von Abfällen. Gleichzeitig soll durch die Übernahme EU-rechtlicher Begriffe und Definitionen sowie die Präzisierung zentraler Regelungen die praktikable und rechtssichere Anwendung des Gesetzes erleichtert werden. Zudem werden Bürokratielasten abgebaut und verschiedene Regelungen vollzugstauglicher ausgestaltet.
Ein neuer Anwendungsbereich und EU-rechtlich harmonisierte Begriffsbestimmungen sorgen für mehr Rechtssicherheit und eine erleichterte Anwendung des Gesetzes. Darüber hinaus gibt es erstmals Regelungen zu den praxisrelevanten Fragen der Abgrenzung von Abfall und Nebenprodukt sowie zum Ende der Abfalleigenschaft. Das Gesetz legt auf der Grundlage des EU-Rechts auch fest, ob eine Müllverbrennungsanlage den "Verwerterstatus" erhält. Die Umsetzung der Hierarchie in den Stufen Vermeidung, Verwertung, Beseitigung ist bereits durch das Gesetz vorgegeben.

Mit der Einführung des § 45 Pflichten der öffentlichen Hand kommt auch der öffentliche Beschaffung eine stärkere Unterstützung für die Abfallvermeidung zu. § 45 verpflichtet die Behörden des Bundes dazu, in der Beschaffung „Erzeugnissen den Vorzug zu geben, die u.a. (1) in rohstoffschonenden, energiesparenden, wassersparenden, schadstoffarmen oder abfallarmen Produktionsverfahren hergestellt worden sind ; (2) durch Vorbereitung zur Wiederverwendung oder durch Recycling von Abfällen, insbesondere unter Einsatz von Rezyklaten, oder aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen hergestellt worden sind ; (3) sich durch Langlebigkeit, Reparaturfreundlichkeit, Wiederverwendbarkeit und Recyclingfähigkeit auszeichnen [...]."

Unterziele
12.4 Abfälle verantwortungsvoll entsorgen 12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen 12.7 Nachhaltiges Beschaffungswesen
Ziele
SDG 9 SDG 16
BMEL; BLE
Programm zur Innovationsförderung des Bundesministeriums für Landwirtschaft und Ernährung

Innovationen sind für den gesamten landwirtschaftlichen Sektor essenziell, um seine Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu stärken. Um das große Ideenpotenzial aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft zu nutzen und zu bündeln, wurde das Programm zur Innovationsförderung des Bundesministeriums für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) im Juli 2006 veröffentlicht. Ziel ist die Unterstützung von technischen und nicht-technischen Innovationen in allen Bereichen der Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft. Im Fokus steht hierbei die Nutzung neuester wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse für die Entwicklung international wettbewerbsfähiger Produkte, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen.

Das Programm zur Innovationsförderung stellt die anwendungsnahe und produktorientierte Forschung und Entwicklung in den Mittelpunkt und somit die Forschungskategorien „Industrielle Forschung“ und „Experimentelle Entwicklung“. Die Hauptadressaten der Innovationsförderung sind Unternehmen der gewerblichen Wirtschaft und Forschungseinrichtungen, die in der Regel im Verbund an der Realisierung von Innovationen arbeiten.

Die Förderbereiche sind vielfältig und seit Beginn des Programms zur Innovationsförderung stetig gewachsen. Neben Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben aus den unterschiedlichen Bereichen der Pflanzenproduktion, Agrartechnik und Nutztierhaltung runden die zentralen Schwerpunkte sichere Lebensmittel und gesunde Ernährung den heutigen Förderbereich ab.

Unterziele
12.1 Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster 12.2 Natürliche Ressourcen schonen 12.3 Weniger Nahrungsmittel verschwenden 12.5 Müll vermeiden und recyclen 12.6 Verantwortungsvolle Unternehmen
Ziele
SDG 3 SDG 9 SDG 13 SDG 14 SDG 15