12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development 12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development

12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development
(45 results for your search)

Sub-goal 12.8 aims to provide people everywhere with relevant information and awareness of sustainable development and a way of life in harmony with nature.

Read more

One milestone in Germany is the National Action Plan for the implementation of the UNESCO Global Action Program Education for Sustainable Development (ESD), which was adopted by the National Platform for ESD in 2017. The action plan serves to anchor ESD in the educational landscape structurally and has become an important element of the National Programme on Sustainable Consumption. One concrete initiative with a high degree of communication impact is the German Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions (HS-DNK), which is being developed by universities and the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE). The Federal Ministry for the Environment also offers educational materials on sustainable consumer behaviour via the online portal for teachers www.umwelt-im-unterricht.de. There are also numerous educational competitions aimed at raising awareness of sustainability issues in different population groups. One example of this is the challenge ‘Lass’ Machen’ (‘Let’s Make’) (UBA), which is aimed at younger generations. Funding programs such as ‘Promoting Vocational Training for Sustainable Development’ (BMU), for example, address people making decisions about higher education.

In addition, there are numerous initiatives that make sustainability information about product labels or eco-labels widely available. Examples include the national eco-label ‘Blue Angel’ or the promotion of the implementation of the EMAS (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme). Germany is also involved in the international ‘Consumer Information Program’ for the development of guidelines for product information. There are also various multi-stakeholder partnerships and networks, such as the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles, which promotes sustainable consumption. With regard to the various eco-labels, the Centre of Competence for Sustainable Procurement offers helpful guidance to the public sector and creates transparency. For consumers, the information portal ‘Seal Clarity’ (BMZ) was created for this purpose.

Currently, there is no established monitoring methodology for this sub-goal. However, the ‘UNESCO 1974 Recommendation concerning Education for International Understanding, Cooperation and Peace and Education relating to Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms’ provides a basis for the development of a monitoring tool. Preliminary work on the development of indicators in Germany exist, for example, in the framework of the implementation activities of the UN Decade of ESD, the Curriculum Framework of the Standing Conference or the German Resource Efficiency Programme II. The BMBF also offers support for the development of indicators for sustainable development education.

BMEL
Too good for the bin! (Zu gut für die Tonne!)

Every year, around eleven million tons of food waste is generated along the entire food supply chain in Germany, more than six million of it in private households alone. Since 2012, the German Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) has been showing how consumers can reduce food waste. With its national strategy for reducing food waste, which is currently being further developed, the ministry is focusing not only on private households but also on the primary production, processing, wholesale and retail, and out-of-home catering sectors. The aim is to halve food waste in Germany at retail and consumer level by 2030 and to reduce food waste along the production and supply chain.


At www.zugutfuerdietonne.de, interested parties can find facts about food waste, tips for more sustainable food handling, and creative recipes for the best leftovers. In tutorials, Too Good for the Bin! regularly gives tips on how to recycle food and leftovers. Information is also provided on the wide range of activities in the countries to implement the national strategy. 


With the Too Good for the Bin! - Federal Award, the BMEL has been honoring outstanding projects and their initiators every year since 2016, who contribute to reducing food waste with their concrete ideas, pioneering spirit and great commitment. The award goes to projects from a wide range of areas along the entire food supply chain: from production and trade to the processing of food in restaurants and private households.


The Twitter channel @zgfdt will be used to tweet news related to food appreciation. 
Tools such as checklists, training materials, flyers, guides, apps for reducing food waste and projects that are committed to more appreciation throughout Germany are presented on the Too Good for the Bin! website: https://www.zugutfuerdietonne.de/jetzt-engagieren/.

The "Guide to passing on food to social institutions - legal aspects" offers information on passing on food that is not marketable but suitable for human consumption. The aim of this guide is to facilitate the transfer of food.
https://www.zugutfuerdietonne.de/service/publikationen/leitfaeden

Unterziele
12.3 Reducing food losses 12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development
Ziele
SDG 2
BMBF; UNESCO
Education for Sustainable Development (ESD)

Education for Sustainable Development enables people to think and act with a long-term perspective. It enables each individual to understand the effects of his/her/their own actions on the world and to make responsible decisions. The educational concept describes a holistic and transformative education that takes into account the learning content, pedagogy and learning environment. Learners of all ages should be enabled to shape themselves and the society they live in in a sustainable way.
2020 saw the launch of the new UNESCO program "Education for Sustainable Development: Towards achieving the SDGs" (ESD for 2030). As an important driver for the Agenda 2030, UNESCO's follow-up program on ESD is closely linked to the Agenda 2030 and its 17 SDGs.

Like the previous UNESCO World Programme of Action on Education for Sustainable Development (WAP ESD, 2015-2019), the new program aims to anchor education for sustainable development in the education system in the long term. This objective and the national multi-actor process - under the leadership of the BMBF - will therefore also be continued at national level. The focus here is on implementing the National Action Plan for ESD.

The new program also takes up social and psychological prerequisites of each individual as important conditions for transformation and places these more at the center of ESD. It aims to address the empowerment of learners to drive social transformation toward sustainability. Another important goal will be to further promote ESD at the political level.
In accordance with the key role of ESD for all SDGs (see SDG 4.7), ESD also makes an important contribution to the achievement of SDG 12 by providing the necessary organizational competencies.

Unterziele
12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development
Ziele
SDG 4
UBA; BLE; DLR; GIZ; KNB
Competence Centre for Sustainable Consumption (KNK)

 

Whether it's food, mobility or clothing, consumption as a cross-sectional issue encompasses all areas of our everyday lives. In accordance with that, many ministries and stakeholders are involved in promoting sustainable consumption in Germany. The Competence Center for Sustainable Consumption was established to support their cooperation, the networking of activities, and the exchange and provision of knowledge. Subordinate authorities of several participating ministries work closely together in the Competence Center, and the office is located at the Federal Environment Agency.

 

Unterziele
12.1 Sustainable consumption and production patterns 12.7 Sustainable public procurement 12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development
Ziele
SDG 1 SDG 4 SDG 8 SDG 9 SDG 11
UBA
AskREACH

The AskREACH project aims to sensitise consumers, trade and industry throughout Europe to so-called "substances of very high concern". The project is developing a smartphone app that consumers can use to obtain information about such substances or request information from suppliers. The legal framework for this is constituted by the European chemicals regulation REACH.

Unterziele
12.4 Environmentally sound management of chemicals 12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development
Ziele
SDG 9 SDG 14 SDG 15
BMU; Environment Ministry Indonesia; Consumers International
Consumer Information Programme for Sustainable Consumption and Production (CI-SCP)

The Consumer Information Programme for Sustainable Consumption and Production (CI-SCP) supports and implements projects, develops strategies and presents existing initiatives to help consumers make sustainable choices. It is led by the Environment Ministries of Germany and Indonesia, and the NGO Consumers International. The programme is supported by a Multi-Stakeholder Advisory Committee, which provides technical and strategic advice and a network of partners.

Unterziele
12.8 Information and awareness for sustainable development
Ziele
SDG 9

12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen 12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen

12.8 Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen
(33 Ergebnisse für Ihre Suche)

Das Unterziel 12.8 zielt darauf ab, dass die Menschen überall über einschlägige Informationen und das Bewusstsein für nachhaltige Entwicklung und eine Lebensweise in Harmonie mit der Natur verfügen.

Weiterlesen

Ein Meilenstein in Deutschland ist der Nationale Aktionsplan zur Umsetzung des UNESCO-Weltaktionsprogramms Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE), der durch die Nationale Plattform für BNE im Jahr 2017 verabschiedet wurde. Der Aktionsplan dient der strukturellen Verankerung von BNE in der Bildungslandschaft und hat zudem als wichtiges Element Eingang in das Nationale Programm für Nachhaltigen Konsum gefunden. Ein konkreter Vorstoß mit hoher Kommunikationswirkung ist unter anderem der Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitskodex für Hochschulen (HS-DNK), der von Hochschulen zusammen mit dem Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (RNE) entwickelt wird. Das Bundesumweltministerium bietet außerdem über das  Online-Portal für Lehrkräfte www.umwelt-im-unterricht.de Unterrichtsmaterialien zum nachhaltigen Konsumverhalten an.. Zudem werden im Bildungskontext zahlreiche Wettbewerbe zur Steigerung der Sensibilität für Nachhaltigkeitsthemen in verschiedenen Bevölkerungsgruppen durchgeführt. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Challenge „Lass ma machen“ (UBA), die sich an jüngere Generationen richtet. Menschen, die sich vor der Berufs- und Studienwahl befinden, werden unter anderem über Förderprogramme wie „Berufsbildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung befördern“ (BMU) adressiert.

Darüber hinaus bestehen zahlreiche Initiativen die Nachhaltigkeitsinformationen über Produktkennzeichnungen oder Umweltzeichen in der Breite verfügbar machen und sensibilisierend wirken. Beispiele sind das staatliche Umweltzeichen „Blauer Engel“ oder die Förderung der Implementierung von EMAS (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme) Weiterhin engagiert sich Deutschland international unter anderem im „Consumer Information Programme“ zur Entwicklung von Leitlinien für Produktinformationen. Zudem bestehen verschiedene Multi-Akteurspartnerschaften und Netzwerke wie das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien zur Förderung nachhaltigen Konsums. Hinsichtlich der zahlreichen Umweltzeichen bietet im öffentlichen Sektor die Kompetenzstelle für nachhaltige Beschaffung hilfreiche Orientierung und schafft Transparenz. Für Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher wurde zu diesem Zweck das Informationsportal „Siegelklarheit“ (BMZ) geschaffen.

Für dieses Unterziel existiert derzeit noch keine etablierte Monitoringmethodik. Jedoch stellt die existierende "UNESCO 1974 Recommendation concerning Education for International Understanding, Cooperation and Peace and Education relating to Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms" eine Grundlage dar, die zu einem Monitoringinstrument weiter entwickelt werden kann. Vorarbeiten zur Indikatorenentwicklung in Deutschland lassen sich unter anderem in Rahmen der Umsetzungsaktivitäten der UN-Dekade BNE, dem Curriculum Framework der Kultusministerkonferenz oder dem Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramm II finden. Darüber hinaus besteht eine Förderung für die Entwicklung von Indikatoren im Bereich Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung seitens des BMBF.

BMEL
Zu gut für die Tonne!

Jährlich fallen in Deutschland entlang der gesamten Lebensmittelversorgungskette rund zwölf Millionen Tonnen Lebensmittelabfälle an, sechs Millionen davon allein in Privathaushalten. Wie Verbraucher:innen die Lebensmittelverschwendung reduzieren können, zeigt Zu gut für die Tonne! bereits seit 2012. Mit der in 2019 beschlossenen Nationalen Strategie zur Reduzierung der Lebensmittelverschwendung rückt das Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) neben den Privathaushalten auch die Sektoren Primärproduktion, Verarbeitung, Groß- und Einzelhandel sowie Außer-Haus-Verpflegung stärker in den Fokus. Ziel ist es, bis 2030 die Lebensmittelverschwendung in Deutschland auf Handels- und Verbraucherebene zu halbieren und Lebensmittelabfälle entlang der Produktions- und Lieferkette zu verringern.

Unter www.zugutfuerdietonne.de finden Interessierte Fakten zur Lebensmittelverschwendung, Tipps für einen nachhaltigeren Umgang mit Lebensmitteln sowie kreative Rezepte für beste Reste. In den #restereloaded-Tutorials gibt Zu gut für die Tonne! regelmäßig Tipps zur Reduzierung der Lebensmittelverschwendung. Auf dem Twitterkanal @zgfdt werden tagtäglich Neuigkeiten rund um das Thema Lebensmittelwertschätzung getwittert.

 

 

Unterziele
12.3 Weniger Nahrungsmittel verschwenden 12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen
Ziele
SDG 2
UBA; BLE; DLR; GIZ; KNB
Kompetenzzentrum Nachhaltiger Konsum (KNK)

Für die Begleitung des Nationalen Programms für nachhaltigen Konsum (NPNK) wurde das Kompetenzzentrum Nachhaltiger Konsum (KNK) mit Geschäftsstelle beim  Umweltbundesamt eingerichtet. Das KNK unterstützt unter Einbeziehung der Ministerien die Umsetzung des NPNK und bietet Informationen und Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten rund um das Thema nachhaltiger Konsum.

Im KNK arbeiten die folgenden Partner eng zusammen:

  • Umweltbundesamt (UBA), Geschäftsstelle
  • Bundesanstalt für Landwirtschaft und Ernährung (BLE)
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) als Projektträger des BMBF für den  FONA-Förderschwerpunkt Sozial-ökologische Forschung (SÖF)
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH (GIZ)
  • Kompetenzstelle für nachhaltige Beschaffung (KNB)

Aufgaben des KNK sind unter anderem die Geschäftsführung der Programmimplementierung des NPNK, die Bereitstellung von Informationsdienstleistungen sowie die fachwissenschaftliche Begleitung. Übergreifendes Ziel ist es, das Thema nachhaltiger Konsum dauerhaft im öffentlichen Bewusstsein zu halten, einen fachlichen Austausch zwischen allen gesellschaftlichen Akteur*innen zu unterstützen sowie Synergien bei der Umsetzung des Nationalen Programms für nachhaltigen Konsum zu fördern.

Unterziele
12.1 Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster 12.7 Nachhaltiges Beschaffungswesen 12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen
Ziele
SDG 1 SDG 4 SDG 8 SDG 9 SDG 11
BMBF; UNESCO
Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE)

Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung befähigt die Menschen zu zukunftsfähigem Denken und Handeln. Sie ermöglicht es jeder/m Einzelnen, die Auswirkungen des eigenen Handelns auf die Welt zu verstehen und verantwortungsvolle Entscheidungen zu treffen. Das Bildungskonzept beschreibt eine ganzheitliche und transformative Bildung, die die Lerninhalte, die Pädagogik und die Lernumgebung berücksichtigt. Lernende jeden Alters sollen in die Lage versetzt werden, sich selbst und die Gesellschaft, in der sie leben, nachhaltig zu gestalten.
2020 fiel der Startschuss für das neue UNESCO-Programm “Education for Sustainable Development: Towards achieving the SDGs“ – kurz „ESD for 2030“. Als ein wichtiger Treiber für die Agenda 2030 ist das Folgeprogramm der UNESCO zu BNE eng an die Agenda 2030 und ihre 17 SDGs geknüpft.

Wie das vorherige UNESCO-Weltaktionsprogramm Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (WAP BNE, 2015-2019) zielt auch das neue Programm darauf ab, Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung langfristig im Bildungssystem zu verankern. Diese Zielsetzung und der nationale Multi-Akteurs-Prozess – unter Federführung des BMBF – werden daher auch national fortgeführt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Umsetzung des Nationalen Aktionsplans BNE.

Das neue Programm greift auch soziale und psychologische Voraussetzungen jedes Einzelnen als wichtige Bedingungen für Transformation auf und rückt diese stärker in den Mittelpunkt der BNE. Die Befähigung von Lernenden, die gesellschaftliche Transformation hin zur Nachhaltigkeit voranzutreiben, soll dabei adressiert werden. Ein wichtiges Ziel wird außerdem sein, BNE auf politischer Ebene weiter voranzubringen.
Entsprechend der Schüsselrolle von BNE für alle SDGs, leistet (Siehe SDG 4.7) BNE auch einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung von SDG 12, in dem die erforderlichen Gestaltungskompetenzen vermittelt werden.

Unterziele
12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen
Ziele
SDG 4
UBA
AskREACH

Das Projekt AskREACH sensibilisiert europaweit Bevölkerung, Handel und Industrie für sogenannte „besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe“ in Erzeugnissen. Im Projekt wird eine Smartphone-App entwickelt, mit der sich Verbraucher über solche Stoffe informieren oder Lieferanten dazu anfragen können. Die europäische Chemikalienverordnung REACH bildet hierfür den gesetzlichen Rahmen.

Unterziele
12.4 Abfälle verantwortungsvoll entsorgen 12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen
Ziele
SDG 9 SDG 14 SDG 15
BMU; Environment Ministry Indonesia; Consumers International
Consumer Information Programme for Sustainable Consumption and Production (CI-SCP)

Das Verbraucherinformationsprogramm für nachhaltigen Konsum und Produktion (Consumer Information Programme for Sustainable Consumption and Production, CI-SCP) unterstützt Projekte und führt sie selbst durch, entwickelt Strategien und stellt bestehende Initiativen vor, die es den Verbraucher*innen erleichtern sollen, nachhaltige Entscheidungen zu treffen. Es wird vom Bundesumweltministerium, dem Umweltministerium Indonesiens sowie von Consumers International geleitet. Das Programm wird von einem Multi-Stakeholder-Beratungsausschuss (MAC), der technische und strategische Beratung leistet, und einem Netzwerk von Partnern unterstützt. Alle Stufen der Lieferkette werden betrachtet und es gibt weltweite Kooperationen mit Produzenten, Einzelhändlern, Regierungen und Verbrauchern sowie deren repräsentativen Verbänden.
Das Programm möchte alle Interessensgruppen in der Lieferkette einbeziehen und gemeinsame Aktionen fördern. Auf der Seite von Unternehmen sollen Erkenntnisse zur Nachfrage genutzt werden, um zuverlässige Verbraucherinformationen bereitzustellen. Einzelhändler sollen sich freiwillig zur Förderung nachhaltiger Produkte verpflichten, Regierungen sollen Märkte für nachhaltige Produkte fördern und Informationsinstrumente zur Förderung des nachhaltigen Konsums nutzen.

Unterziele
12.8  Informationen bereitstellen und Bewusstsein schaffen
Ziele
SDG 9